A £1 minimum deposit in the UK: what the price point actually means
A £1 deposit buys you a seat at the same table the £100 player sits at — same UK-licensed games, same GAMSTOP hooks, same cashier. What it does not buy is a bonus worth chasing, a stake above the per-spin cap, or any real margin against the house edge. The arithmetic of what a pound buys is the subject of this page.
Verified against the Gambling Commission’s public register of gambling businesses, current as of 23 September 2026.
The cheapest seat at a UK-licensed online casino is one pound. Several operators on the Commission’s books accept a deposit that low; most do not. The size of the deposit does not move the regulatory frame around the player, and that is the point that catches out anyone who treats “minimum deposit” as a search filter rather than a regulatory line. A £1 minimum does not mean a £1-rulebook: the same 18+ age check, the same GAMSTOP opt-in, the same financial vulnerability prompt at £150 of net deposits in 30 days apply to a pound-stake player as to anyone else. Section 1.1 looks at how that contrast — low floor, full regulatory roof — actually shapes a session.

- What a £1 minimum deposit is, and what it is not
- Why the £1 floor exists, and who actually clears it
- Where £1 deposits sit in the wider UK market
- The UK licensing frame around a £1 deposit
- How to read a Gambling Commission licence number
- What the licence requires of the operator around a £1 deposit
- What the licence does not set: deposit ceilings
- Responsible gambling around a small deposit
- GAMSTOP is mandatory at every licensed site
- Deposit limits and the new prompt requirement
- Reality checks and time-outs
- What “not on GAMSTOP” really means
- How a £1 deposit moves through the cashier
- Debit card
- Bank transfer and Faster Payments
- E-wallets: Apple Pay and AstroPay as worked examples
- How fast a £1 withdrawal actually settles
- Comparing ten £1-accepting UK operators
- PokerStars
- Betfred
- Betfair
- bet365
- Unibet (unibet.co.uk)
- Coral (coral.co.uk)
- Casumo
- 888casino
- kwiff
- Midnite
- The arithmetic of a £1 bonus, under the 10x wagering cap
- Frequently Asked Questions
What a £1 minimum deposit is, and what it is not
A £1 minimum deposit is the smallest amount a cashier will let a player send in on a single transaction, before any welcome offer is layered on top. The number is set by the operator, not by the regulator, and it can sit at £1, £5, £10 or £20 depending on the brand and the payment method. For the player, the lower the floor, the smaller the barrier to opening an account, verifying an identity, and getting funds into a wallet.
What it is not, just as importantly, is a licence to skip the rules around the deposit. Every GB-licensed remote casino must verify name, address and date of birth before the first deposit or any play, a requirement in force since 7 May 2019. The £1 floor sits underneath that check, not beside it. A player who tries to register and skip verification will not be allowed to deposit a pound, let alone withdraw anything won from one.

The promotional side has its own floor. Since 19 December 2025, wagering requirements on any casino bonus offered to a UK player are capped at 10 times the bonus amount, and mixed-product bonuses — for instance a sports bet that pays out in casino free spins — are no longer permitted. That cap applies whether the deposit underneath it is £1 or £1,000; the cap is on what is asked of the player after the deposit clears, not on the deposit itself.
Why the £1 floor exists, and who actually clears it
A minimum deposit exists for two reasons. The first is administrative: payment processors and banks price small transfers uneconomically, and operators pick a floor that keeps the unit cost sensible. The second is marketing: a low headline minimum draws comparison-shoppers and SEO traffic, even though only a small slice of players ever play at that floor.

That second reason is the one to be honest about. A casino that advertises “deposit from £1” does not expect most of its players to deposit £1 on a Tuesday evening. The headline minimum sets a price of entry; the average deposit sits several tiers above it. A £1 minimum deposit is, in practical terms, a way to try a site with negligible risk. It is not, in itself, a money-management strategy for someone who plans to keep playing.
Where £1 deposits sit in the wider UK market
The wider frame matters because the minimum-deposit number can mislead. On 18 September 2026, the Gambling Commission’s public register listed 139 businesses holding an active remote casino operating licence, and the same register’s domain list held 1,065 active domain entries plus 361 white-label entries. A white-label domain trades under another company’s licence, so the actual count of separately-licensed operators is smaller than the domain count suggests. Every one of those operators must meet the same social responsibility and affordability rules.
For a player, the practical meaning is that “minimum deposit £1” is a property of the operator’s cashier, not a marker of the operator’s standing. A £1 floor at a long-established brand sits in the same regulatory regime as a £20 floor at a smaller brand. Both must run GAMSTOP, both must run the vulnerability check, both must cap bonus wagering at 10x. The difference is the price of admission, not the legal category.
The UK licensing frame around a £1 deposit
A £1 minimum deposit casino in the UK is not a different legal category from any other online casino. It is an online casino, with all that implies. The Gambling Commission, set up under the Gambling Act 2005 and sponsored by the Department for Culture, Media and Sport, regulates online casino gaming for Great Britain — England, Scotland and Wales. Northern Ireland sits outside that regime. Since the Gambling (Licensing and Advertising) Act 2014, an operator taking customers in Great Britain needs a Commission licence wherever it is based: a Curaçao, Malta or Gibraltar licence is not, on its own, enough.
How to read a Gambling Commission licence number
The Commission’s public register is the single test of whether a brand holds a GB licence. The register can be searched online and downloaded as a CSV or Excel file. Every licence number on it follows a fixed shape: six digits, then “R”, then a further block, then a suffix. The leading six digits repeat the licence holder’s account number, and the “R” marks a remote (online) licence. So Betfair’s licence number is 039411-R-319335-010: account 39411, remote (R), licence block 319335, suffix 010. The same number is what a player should see on the operator’s own site, usually at the foot of the homepage.
The register also tracks each domain separately. On 18 September 2026 it recorded 1,065 active domain entries and a further 361 white-label entries. A white-label domain trades under another company’s licence — the domain belongs to a marketing entity, but the licence behind it belongs to the host. Two different-looking casino websites can therefore sit on a single licence, and a player should not be surprised to find the same Commission number on both. Several large UK-facing brands share a single licensee: Ladbrokes, Coral and Gala Bingo all sit under LC International Limited, for example. They are different brands; they are not, from the Commission’s point of view, separate operators.
What the licence requires of the operator around a £1 deposit
A £1 deposit triggers the same onboarding flow as any other deposit, and that flow is set by the Commission’s Licence Conditions and Codes of Practice and the Remote Technical Standards rather than by the operator. Three points are worth naming.
First, age and identity. The minimum age for any gambling product in Great Britain is 18, and the operator must verify name, address and date of birth before the first deposit or any play, using documents or an electronic check. A £1 player is verified to the same standard as a £1,000 player.
Second, the per-spin stake cap. Since 21 May 2025, players aged 18 to 24 have been limited to £2 per game cycle on online slots; since 9 April 2025, players aged 25 and over have been limited to £5 per game cycle. A “game cycle” is one spin on a slot, including any features that play inside it. The cap is a property of the spin, not the deposit, so it hits a £1 player as hard as it hits a £1,000 player. In fact, it hits the £1 player harder in percentage terms, because a £2 spin is two-thirds of a £1 deposit, and a £5 spin is five times it.
Third, the financial vulnerability prompt. Since 28 February 2025, an operator must run a financial vulnerability check when a player’s net deposits in any rolling 30-day window reach £150, using public data only. A player funding the account entirely in £1 deposits is not exempt from this — the £150 figure counts net deposits, not deposit size. Hit it, and the operator will run a soft check. Wider financial risk assessments have been announced but are not yet in force.
What the licence does not set: deposit ceilings
There is no state-set deposit or loss ceiling in Great Britain. The maximum a player can put in is, by default, what the operator and the player’s own bank agree on. Since 31 October 2025, operators have had to prompt every new customer to set a financial limit before the first deposit — a deposit limit, a loss limit, or a time limit — and to honour whichever limit the customer chooses. That prompt is part of the licence; refusing it is not an option for the player and not an option for the operator.
A £1 minimum deposit makes the deposit-limit prompt unusual in a specific way: a player who intends to deposit £1, win or lose it, and stop, will already be inside whatever limit they set. A player who intends to keep topping up by a pound at a time is not, and the prompt is the moment where that intent becomes a written number the player has agreed to.
Responsible gambling around a small deposit
Small deposits do not exempt a player from any of the responsible-gambling architecture in the UK. The £1 floor is set by the cashier; the deposit-cap prompt, the GAMSTOP self-exclusion, the affordability checks and the reality-check reminders are set by the licence. Section 1.3 takes each of those in turn.
GAMSTOP is mandatory at every licensed site
GAMSTOP is the national online self-exclusion scheme, and it is a mandatory condition of every online licence since 31 March 2020. A player who registers with GAMSTOP chooses a self-exclusion period of six months, one year or five years; once chosen, it cannot be cancelled early. Every GB-licensed operator must check new registrations against GAMSTOP and refuse to take deposits from anyone on the list, regardless of the deposit size they are trying to make.
For a player searching specifically for a £1 minimum deposit casino not on GAMSTOP, the answer is that no GB-licensed operator fits that search. An operator that does not run GAMSTOP checks is, by definition, not a UK-licensed operator, and an unlicensed operator has no legal route to take GB customers. The page on the operator side of a GAMSTOP-avoiding search is laid out in section 1.3.3 below.
Deposit limits and the new prompt requirement
Since 31 October 2025, every new customer at a GB-licensed online casino must be prompted to set a financial limit before their first deposit. The prompt gives the player the choice of a deposit limit (a ceiling on how much can be sent in over a chosen period), a loss limit (a ceiling on net losses over a chosen period), or a time limit (a ceiling on hours of play). The operator has to honour whichever limit the player picks, and has to make the prompt unavoidable.
For a player with a £1 deposit habit, the prompt is more consequential than it looks. A £1 deposit per session, played through on a single slot, is not the kind of stake that trips the affordability check on its own. A £1 deposit per session, played through and topped up every day for two weeks, is £14 of net deposits, still well below the £150 vulnerability threshold. A £1 deposit every day for six months is £182, and the vulnerability check fires on the day the rolling 30-day total crosses £150. The prompt is the cheaper place to draw the line.
Reality checks and time-outs
Slots at a GB-licensed site have to run a reality check at least every hour of continuous play, and since 31 October 2021 auto-play has been banned: a slot spin may not be faster than 2.5 seconds, and the player has to initiate each spin manually. “Losses disguised as wins” — slot outcomes that celebrate a payout smaller than the stake — are also banned. None of these constraints care about the deposit size. A £1 player gets the same reality-check pop-up, on the same timer, as a £1,000 player.
Time-outs are the player’s lever, not the licence’s. Every GB-licensed operator has to offer time-outs of 24 hours, 48 hours, one week or six weeks, on top of the GAMSTOP self-exclusion. The £1 deposit is a small enough number that taking a 24-hour time-out costs almost nothing in forgone play; that is part of why the low floor is useful as a discovery tool, and not as a long-term stake.
What “not on GAMSTOP” really means
There are sites advertised as £1 deposit casinos not on GAMSTOP. They are not licensed by the Gambling Commission. They will take a UK deposit on a £1 floor because they are not bound by the Commission’s rules around self-exclusion, affordability checks, stake caps or bonus wagering caps. They will not be reachable through a UK payment route that requires Commission registration, they will not appear on the Commission’s register, and they will not offer the Commission’s complaints process if something goes wrong with a withdrawal.
The Commission’s enforcement tool here is disruption rather than blocking: cease-and-desist notices, search-engine delisting, payment and hosting referrals. It has no power to order ISPs to block access. The penalty for the player is not a fine — the Commission’s enforcement runs against the operator — but the absence of any UK route to complain, the absence of GAMSTOP if the player needs it, and the absence of any guarantee that a small win will be paid at all. Section 1.4 looks at how a small deposit actually moves through the cashier.
How a £1 deposit moves through the cashier
A £1 deposit is small enough to run on almost any payment method that the operator supports, but the supported methods are not all equivalent. Three channels matter: debit card, bank transfer and e-wallet. Each has its own rule on minimum deposits, on how fast the deposit clears, and on how fast a withdrawal comes back the other way.
Debit card
Debit card deposits are the default at most GB-licensed online casinos, and almost every licensed operator accepts them. Credit cards have been banned for gambling since 14 April 2020, and that ban extends to credit cards routed through e-wallets — paying via an e-wallet that is itself funded by a credit card is still a credit-card deposit. Debit cards are not in scope.
The £1 floor is usually available on the debit-card rail. The card network (Visa or Mastercard) imposes no minimum transaction value at the casino’s end, and the operator’s own floor is what binds. Withdrawals back to a debit card are typically processed in one to three business days, sometimes faster through Faster Payments if the operator is set up for it, but the network’s own settlement window can stretch that further on a Friday evening.
Bank transfer and Faster Payments
Bank transfers within the UK typically move through the Faster Payments Service, which launched in 2008 and is operated by Pay.UK. The service runs 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and most payments arrive instantly or within a couple of minutes; transfers can occasionally take up to two hours. Faster Payments also sets a £1,000,000 per-transaction limit, which is well above any £1 deposit but matters for a player moving larger sums in or out. Individual banks can and do impose lower limits on their customers.
The £1 floor is, again, available on Faster Payments. The catch is that bank transfers are slower on the way out than on the way in: a £1 deposit can clear instantly, but a £1,001 withdrawal may have to fall back to BACS, which runs on a three-bank-day cycle. For a player moving small amounts, the Faster Payments rail is the better fit; for a player withdrawing a larger balance, the rail is the same one that throttles the payout. Section 1.4.4 sets out how the choice of method changes the player’s view of “how fast can I get my money.”
E-wallets: Apple Pay and AstroPay as worked examples
E-wallets are an in-between rail. Deposits clear at the speed of the wallet, withdrawals come back to the wallet and then to the bank at the wallet’s pace, and the £1 floor is supported by the larger wallets.
Apple Pay is the clearest example. It was launched by Apple Inc. on 20 October 2014 and began supporting UK-issued cards on 14 July 2015. It protects card data through tokenization — the actual card number is replaced with a device-specific tokenised Device Primary Account Number, and a dynamic security code is generated for each transaction. In-store payments use near-field communication to talk to a contactless terminal; online, the wallet sits behind the same Visa and Mastercard rails that a debit card would use. On an iPhone with Face ID, an in-store purchase is authenticated by double-clicking the side button; on Touch ID models, by double-clicking the Home button. Apple Pay requires a supported card from a participating card issuer and is not available in every market. None of that is specific to gambling, but it is the rail on top of which a £1 deposit to a casino cashier moves.
AstroPay is a useful counter-example. It was founded in 2009 and is headquartered in Uruguay. It operates as a global digital wallet offering online payments, virtual and physical debit cards and peer-to-peer transfers, and it spun off its payment-processing business, dLocal, as a separate company in 2016. AstroPay’s UK entity, Larstal Limited, is an electronic money institution authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011; its Isle of Man entity, AstroPay Global (IOM) Limited, is licensed by the Isle of Man Financial Services Authority for money transmission; its Brazilian entity is authorised by the Brazilian Central Bank as an electronic currency issuer; and its Danish entity is authorised by the Danish Financial Supervisory Authority. AstroPay serves users across markets including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Spain, the United Kingdom, the United States and Uruguay. For a UK player, the relevant point is that AstroPay is an FCA-authorised e-money institution, which means it sits inside UK financial regulation even if the casino on top of it does not. That is a separate layer from the Commission’s gambling licence, and both have to be in place for an AstroPay deposit to a UK casino to be a regulated transaction end to end.
How fast a £1 withdrawal actually settles
A £1 withdrawal is unusual for two reasons. The first is that most licensed operators set a minimum withdrawal that is higher than the minimum deposit — a £5 minimum deposit does not imply a £5 minimum withdrawal. A £1 player who wins something may have to leave it in the wallet until the balance passes the withdrawal floor, or transfer it back as a smaller bonus balance. The second is that withdrawals are subject to the operator’s own pending period, on top of the payment-rail speed. The pending period is typically 24 to 48 hours, during which the operator reviews the request, runs any affordability check it needs to, and then releases the funds. The £1 deposit that cleared in seconds becomes a withdrawal that is, at best, instant plus the pending period.
The honest summary is that withdrawal speed at a £1 floor depends almost entirely on the method chosen, not on the deposit size. A £1 win paid back to Apple Pay can land within an hour; a £1 win paid by bank transfer can take a working day; a £1 win paid back to a debit card can take two to three working days. None of those timings are faster at a £1 floor than at a £100 floor. The floor changes who can play; the rail changes how fast the cash moves.
Comparing ten £1-accepting UK operators
The table below sets out ten brands that are licensed by the Gambling Commission to offer remote casino gaming to UK customers, each at a £1 minimum deposit floor or close to it. They are listed on the Commission’s public register of gambling businesses as of 18 September 2026; the licence number is the number on that register; the subject support column tracks whether the brand’s own materials confirm a £1 minimum. Where the column reads “not stated” the brand’s materials do not pin a number that low; where it reads a specific figure, that is the figure the materials publish. The table is a description, not a recommendation.
| Brand | Licence holder and GB remote casino licence | Domain status on the register | Subject support |
|---|---|---|---|
| PokerStars | Stars Interactive Limited · 039108-R-319334-026 | Active at PokerStars | not stated |
| Betfred | Petfre (Gibraltar) Limited · 039544-R-319290-010 | Active at Betfred | not stated |
| Betfair | PPB Games Limited · 039411-R-319335-010 | Active at Betfair | not stated |
| bet365 | Hillside (UK Gaming) ENC · 055149-R-331499-004 | Active at bet365 | not stated |
| Unibet | Platinum Gaming Limited · 045322-R-324275-019 | Active at Unibet | not stated |
| Coral | LC International Limited · 054743-R-330863-014 | Active at Coral | not stated |
| Casumo | Recro Limited · 061549-R-336718-002 | Active at Casumo | not stated |
| 888casino | 888 UK Limited · 039028-R-319297-014 | Active at 888casino | not stated |
| kwiff | Eaton Gate Gaming Limited · 044448-R-323408-017 | Active at kwiff | not stated |
| Midnite | Dribble Media Limited · 042647-R-321653-022 | Active at Midnite | not stated |
The wider context matters as much as the columns. On 18 September 2026, the Commission’s public register listed 139 businesses holding an active remote casino operating licence; ten of them are above. The same register’s domain list held 1,065 active domain entries and 361 white-label entries — a white-label site trades under another company’s licence, so the same ten operators can carry many more brand names than this table shows. Several large brands in this market share a single licensee: LC International Limited, for instance, is the licence holder for Coral, and the same licence account covers Ladbrokes and Gala Bingo. They look like different operators; they are, from the Commission’s point of view, one licence.
PokerStars
Stars Interactive Limited holds remote casino operating licence 039108-R-319334-026 on the Commission’s public register, with Pokerstars.uk listed as an active domain of account 39108. The brand has its roots in poker, and the casino product sits alongside it rather than replacing it. For a player who specifically wants a casino tab rather than a poker client, the casino product is there; for a player who wants the lowest minimum deposit, the brand’s own materials do not pin a £1 floor. The licence is in order and the GAMSTOP, age and identity checks all apply, but the headline-lowest deposit is not part of the public material the Commission’s register confirms.
The honest reading is that PokerStars is a licensed UK casino whose casino product is part of a larger poker-led offering, and the £1 minimum is not what the brand leads with. A player who values the casino catalogue over the headline deposit figure can use the licence and the responsible-gambling architecture as their real point of comparison.
Betfred
Petfre (Gibraltar) Limited holds remote casino operating licence 039544-R-319290-010, with Betfred.com listed as an active domain of account 39544. Betfred is one of the better-known high-street names in UK gambling, and the online casino runs alongside the sportsbook under the same licence. As with PokerStars, the brand’s own published materials do not pin a £1 minimum deposit on the casino product; the £5 or £10 floor is the more common headline on this segment of the market.
What the licence gives a player is the Commission’s full set of protections — GAMSTOP, the deposit-limit prompt, the financial vulnerability check at £150 of net deposits in 30 days, and the per-spin stake cap — together with the operator’s own complaints route and the Commission’s approved ADR if that route fails. That is what the licence costs the operator, and it is also what the player is paying for, in regulatory terms, when they choose a Commission-licensed brand over an offshore one.
Betfair
PPB Games Limited holds remote casino operating licence 039411-R-319335-010, with Betfair.com listed as an active domain of account 39411. Betfair runs an exchange-led sportsbook alongside the casino product, and the casino is the smaller of the two halves of the brand by traffic. The Commission’s register confirms the licence and the active domain, and the £1 minimum is not the brand’s headline number in its own published materials.
The judgement call here is whether a player wants the casino product on a brand whose centre of gravity is the sportsbook. The Commission’s protections are identical to the rest of the field, because they are set by the licence and not by the operator. The brand differentiator is product mix, not regulatory standing.
bet365
Hillside (UK Gaming) ENC holds remote casino operating licence 055149-R-331499-004, with Bet365.com listed as an active domain of account 55149. bet365 is the largest of the brands on this list by UK-facing footprint, and the casino product sits inside a much larger sports-led platform. The £1 minimum is not the headline number the brand leads with; the casino cashier’s own floor is what binds.
The trade-off is reach against focus. A player who values having every product on one licence, and the full Commission protection on every product, gets that here; a player who wants the casino treated as the main event, rather than a tab inside a sportsbook shell, will find that the casino is run by the same operator but is not the centre of the brand.
Unibet (unibet.co.uk)
Platinum Gaming Limited holds remote casino operating licence 045322-R-324275-019, with unibet.co.uk listed as an active domain of account 45322. Unibet runs a casino-led product across several European markets, and the UK-facing site is one national skin of that wider licence. The Commission’s register confirms the licence and the active domain; the brand’s own materials do not pin a £1 minimum deposit in a way the research has caught.
For a player comparing Unibet with the rest of this list, the relevant points are the licence (in order), the casino product (large and casino-led rather than sports-led), and the responsible-gambling architecture (the same Commission requirements apply). The £1 floor is, again, a cashier property, not a regulatory one.
Coral (coral.co.uk)
LC International Limited holds remote casino operating licence 054743-R-330863-014, with coral.co.uk listed as an active domain of account 54743. Coral is one of three UK-facing brands on the same licence account — Ladbrokes and Gala Bingo sit alongside it under LC International — so the Commission’s register treats them as one operator with several brand surfaces. The £1 minimum is not the headline figure Coral’s own materials lead with.
The judgement here is product familiarity. Coral is a recognisable high-street name, and the online casino carries the same brand; the licence account is the same as Ladbrokes and Gala Bingo, and a player using any of the three is, from the Commission’s point of view, using the same operator. A player who wants to compare the casino product specifically can do so on game catalogue, mobile app and cashier speed rather than on the licence, because the licence is shared.
Casumo
Recro Limited holds remote casino operating licence 061549-R-336718-002, with Casumo.com listed as an active domain of account 61549. Casumo runs a casino-led product rather than a sportsbook-and-casino bundle, and is one of the more recent additions to the Commission’s register of remote casino operators in the UK. The £1 minimum is not the brand’s published headline; the casino cashier’s actual floor is what binds.
For a player who wants a casino-first brand with a UK-facing licence, Casumo sits in the right part of this list. The Commission’s protections apply in full, and the product focus is on the casino rather than on the sportsbook. The £1 headline is a function of the cashier, not a marker of how the brand positions itself.
888casino
888 UK Limited holds remote casino operating licence 039028-R-319297-014, with 888casino listed as an active domain of account 39028. 888 is one of the longer-established casino-first brands in this market, and the licence account is held in the UK by a UK-registered entity. The £1 minimum is not the headline figure the brand’s own materials lead with on this segment.
The judgement here is breadth of casino product against familiarity of brand. 888 is a casino-led name, and the catalogue is wider than the more sportsbook-led brands on this list. The Commission’s protections apply in full, and the licence is held in the UK, which is the part of the operator’s profile that matters for a player looking for a UK-regulated brand.
kwiff
Eaton Gate Gaming Limited holds remote casino operating licence 044448-R-323408-017, with Kwiff.com listed as an active domain of account 44448. kwiff is one of the newer UK-facing brands on this list and runs a smaller casino-led product than the larger names above. The £1 minimum is not the headline number the brand’s own materials lead with; the cashier’s actual floor is what binds.
For a player who wants to try a smaller casino-led brand with a Commission licence, kwiff fits the bill. The Commission’s protections apply in full, including GAMSTOP, the deposit-limit prompt, the financial vulnerability check at £150 in 30 days, and the per-spin stake cap. The smaller brand means a smaller catalogue and fewer live-dealer tables than the largest names above; that is the trade-off against the more established operators.
Midnite
Dribble Media Limited holds remote casino operating licence 042647-R-321653-022, with Midnite.com listed as an active domain of account 42647. Midnite is another newer UK-facing brand, run as a casino-and-sportsbook combination rather than a casino-only product. The £1 minimum is not the brand’s headline number in its own materials; the cashier’s floor is what binds.
For a player comparing Midnite with the rest of this list, the relevant points are the licence (in order), the product mix (casino plus sportsbook, smaller than the very largest names), and the Commission’s protections (the same as everyone else on this list). The £1 floor is a cashier property, and the brand positions itself around the casino-and-sportsbook mix rather than the deposit-floor number.
The arithmetic of a £1 bonus, under the 10x wagering cap
Section 1.6 examines how a £1 deposit affects the value of a bonus. The arithmetic here is important for understanding the real cost of a small deposit, and answers a key question: what does a £1 minimum deposit actually cost the player?
A welcome bonus or a deposit-match offer turns the deposit into something more than its face value, but only on the operator’s terms. Since 19 December 2025, the Gambling Commission has capped wagering requirements on casino bonuses at 10x the bonus amount. The cap is on what is asked of the player, not on what is offered.
Consider the simplest version: a casino offers a £1 deposit match, doubling the player’s bankroll to £2. The 10x cap means the player has to wager the £1 bonus 10 times before any bonus-related winnings can be withdrawn — a required turnover of £10. At a £0.10 stake per spin, that is 100 spins; at a £0.20 stake, 50 spins; at the £2 maximum stake for an 18-24-year-old, 5 spins. The exact number is a function of the stake size, but the £10 turnover figure is fixed by the bonus and the cap.
The wider band is what matters for the page. With a £1 bonus, the required turnover band is £10; with a £10 bonus, £100; with a £100 bonus, £1,000. The 10x cap holds across the band. The arithmetic of how long that takes depends on the stake size, but the turnover figure is the page’s contribution: under the current cap, a bonus is asked of the player, in turnover terms, at 10 times its face value, and that is the lower bound.
The honest read of the cap is that it has changed what a UK bonus can ask of a player. Before 19 December 2025, wagering multiples of 30x, 40x and 65x were common on UK casino welcome offers, and a £10 bonus could carry a £300 or £650 turnover requirement. The 10x cap has reduced the maximum ask to £10 of turnover per £1 of bonus. That is the real change, and it is the lens a £1 deposit player should read the bonus terms through: not “is the bonus generous?” but “is the bonus’s turnover ask inside the 10x cap, and at what stake size does the ask turn into a workable number of spins?”
The verdict on a £1 bonus is that the bonus itself is small enough that the 10x cap makes it almost free to clear, and almost worthless to chase. A £1 bonus cleared in 100 spins at £0.10 per spin is a session, not a commitment; it is also a session whose bonus element adds very little to the bankroll. The smarter version of the same money, for a £1 player, is to skip the bonus and play the £1 stake directly, where the wagering cap does not bind, the bankroll is not locked behind turnover, and the win (if there is one) is withdrawable on the operator’s standard terms.
Frequently Asked Questions
What counts as a £1 minimum deposit at a licensed UK casino?
A £1 minimum deposit is the smallest amount the cashier will accept on a single transaction before any welcome offer is layered on top. The figure is set by the operator, not the regulator, and most GB-licensed operators set it at £5, £10 or £20 rather than £1. The deposit triggers the same identity check, age verification and GAMSTOP hook as any other deposit, and the per-spin stake cap applies regardless of deposit size.
Is a £1 minimum deposit casino safe to use?
A £1 minimum deposit casino licensed by the Gambling Commission is regulated to the same standard as any other GB-licensed online casino. The Commission’s Licence Conditions and Codes of Practice, the Remote Technical Standards, the GAMSTOP self-exclusion scheme and the financial vulnerability check all apply to a £1 player in the same way they apply to any other. The deposit size does not lower the regulatory floor; it lowers the price of entry.
Can I find a £1 minimum deposit casino that isn’t on GAMSTOP?
Not a legal one in Great Britain. GAMSTOP is a mandatory condition of every online licence the Commission issues, and a site that does not check GAMSTOP is, by definition, not licensed. Operators that advertise themselves as “not on GAMSTOP” are operating offshore, take GB customers without regulatory cover, and offer no Commission route to complain if something goes wrong with a withdrawal.
How quickly do withdrawals settle after a £1 deposit?
Withdrawal speed depends on the payment method, not the deposit size. A withdrawal back to Apple Pay or to an e-wallet can land within an hour or two once the operator’s pending period (typically 24 to 48 hours) has run. A withdrawal to a debit card usually takes one to three business days. A withdrawal by bank transfer usually settles same-day through Faster Payments, but can fall back to BACS for larger amounts and take three bank days. The £1 deposit is irrelevant to those timings.
Which payment methods accept a £1 minimum deposit?
Most GB-licensed operators that advertise a £1 minimum accept it on the debit-card rail, on Faster Payments bank transfer, and on Apple Pay and the larger e-wallets. Credit cards are not available for gambling since 14 April 2020, and that ban extends to credit cards funded through e-wallets. The exact method set depends on the operator; a £1 player choosing between methods should pick the one whose withdrawal rail they prefer to use later, not the one with the fastest deposit.
Is a £1 minimum deposit casino licensed by the Gambling Commission?
A £1 minimum deposit casino that takes GB customers must be licensed by the Commission, regardless of the deposit floor. The Commission’s public register is the test: every licence number is searchable and downloadable as a CSV or Excel file, and the licence number should appear on the operator’s site. An operator that does not appear on the register is unlicensed, and an unlicensed operator has no legal route to take GB customers.
Created by the ”cardcasinoguide” editorial team.